Navratri The Nine Nights of Enlightenment – Yesmywish !

Navratri is the Hindu festival of nine nights dedicated to the glorification of Shakti, the feminine form of the Divine. ‘Navratri‘ means ‘nine nights’. Nav’ means ‘nine’ and ‘ratri’ means ‘night’.  There are many legends that are related to Navratri.  All of them are about the Goddess Shakti, the Hindu Mother Goddess and her many forms.  It is one of the most celebrated festivals of the Hindu calendar.

Importance of nine days of navratri

1st-3rd day of Navratri puja

In the puja room, prepare a small mud bed and sow barley seeds on it on the starting day of Navrartri. These starting days are wholly dedicated to Goddess Durga.

4th -6th day of Navrartri puja

During these days of Navrartri Puja, the Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped for peace and prosperity.

7th day of Navrartri Puja

Last three days of Navratri Puja, goddess Saraswati is worshipped to obtain the spiritual knowledge.

8th day of Navratri Puja

8th day of Navrartri is also known as Mahaashtami. This day worshiping of little girls (Kumari E-Puja) is done as the mother goddess, therefore, it is a important part of rituals.


9th day of Navrartri Puja

Last day of Navrarti is also known as Mahanavmi. On this special day, devotees perform Kanya Puja. Nine young girls show nine different forms of Goddess Durga. Firstly, their feet are washed and then offered food, it mainly includes halwa, poori and Kala Chana along with piece of coconut and some money (dakshina).

Benefits of Navratri puja

During these days, one should worship the power of Goddess and seek her blessings. The devotees are blessed from peace and prosperity. The power of goddess Durga has the Supremacy over the prevention, destruction and creation of the Universe. Therefore, Goddess Durga protects her Devotees from all problems and worries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *